Harcourt "Ace" Vernon Lectures

Sponsored by the Mt. Cuba Astronomical Observatory

and the Mt. Cuba Astronomical Foundation.

Recent Vernon Lectures

Fall 2023 Dr. Sarah Johnson, Gerogetown University

2023 : Dr.Sarah Johnson


(click here to see Dr. Johnson's lecture)

Fall 2019 Dr. Kelly Korreck, Harvard Center for Astrophysics

2019 : Dr.Kelly Korreck


(click here to see Dr. Korreck's lecture)

Spring 2019 Dr. Joseph Taylor, 1993 Nobel Laureate, Princeton University

2019 : Dr. Joseph Taylor


(click here to see Dr. Taylor's lecture)

Fall 2018 Hilton Lewis, Director of Keck Observatory

2018 : Hilton Lewis

(click here to see Hilton Lewis's lecture)

Spring 2018 Dr. Veronique Petit, Assistant Professor, University of Delaware

2018 : Dr. Veronique Petit

(click here to see Dr. Petit's lecture)

2017 Dr. Jane Rigby, Deputy Project Scientist for Operations - JWST, NASA

2017 : Dr. Jane Rigby

(click here to see Dr. Rigby's lecture)

2017 Dr. Emily Rice, Assistant Professor, College of Staten Island, City University of New York

2017 : Emily Rice

(click here to see Dr. Rice's lecture)

2016 Dr. Mike Montgomery, Dept of Astronomy and McDonald Observatory, The University of Texas

2016 : Mike Montgomery

(click here to see Dr. Montgomery's lecture)

2016 Harry Shipman, Annie Jump Cannon Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Delaware

2016 : Harry Shipman

2015 Dr. Fergal Mullally, Kepler Science Officer, SETI/NASA Ames Research

2015 : Fergal Mullally

2014 Carolyn Porco, Imaging Science Team Leader, NASA Cassini Mission

2014 : Carolyn Porco

2013 Dr. David Jewitt, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, UCLA

2013 : Dr. David Jewitt

2012 Dr. Mark Morris, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, UCLA

2012 : Dr. Mark Morris

2011 Dr. Greg Laughlin, Professor and Chair, Department of Astronomy, University of California at Santa Cruz

2011 : Dr. Greg Laughlin

2010 Captain Alan Bean, Retired US Navy, Apollo 12 Astronaut

2010 : Captain Alan Bean

(click here to see Captain Bean's lecture)

2009 Dr. Alex Filippenko, Professor, University of California Berkeley

2009 : Dr. Alex Filippenko