Description: Description: rainbow-hr

PUBLIC AND FAMILY NIGHT SCHEDULE

Description: Description: rainbow-hr

The general public and MCAO members are invited to visit the Observatory on select Monday evenings at 8PM for Public Night programs.  These programs include discussions and illustrated talks on astronomy, planetarium programs and offer the opportunity to view the planets, moon and other objects through the telescope, weather permitting.  Due to limited parking and seating at the observatory, admission is by reservation only. 

Public Night attendance is limited to adults and students 5th grade and above. If you are interested in making reservations for a public night, you can contact us by calling 302-654-6407 between the hours of 9 am and 1 pm Monday through Friday.  Or you can email us any time at KimGreenmcao@gmail.com.  Please be aware that any emails or phone calls received after 1pm, on the day of an event, will not receive reservations, as we are only in the office until 1pm.   The public nights will be presented even if the weather does not permit observation through the telescope. The admission fees are $3 for adults and $2 for children.  There is no admission cost for MCAO members, but reservations are still required.  If you are interested in becoming a MCAO member, please see the link for membership.  We also offer family memberships.

Family Nights are scheduled from late spring to early fall on Friday nights at 8:30PM. These programs are opportunities for families with younger children to see and learn about astronomy by looking at and enjoying the sky and its wonders.  It is meant to teach young children from ages 6-12 about astronomy in simple terms they can really understand. Reservations are required and admission fees are $3 for adults and $2 for children.

*Please dress appropriately for the weather conditions as the observations are outdoors. Clear skies will result in chilly to cold conditions even during the warmer months.

Description: Description: rainbow-hr

Date

Time

Topic

Host

Co-Host

Monday, January 7, 2019

8:00 PM

"The Solar Wind: From the Sun to the Earth and Beyond"

Ben Marucca

Judi Provencal

Monday, January 21, 2019

8:00 PM

"How to Use the New Telescope You Got for Christmas"

Greg Weaver

Scott Jackson

Monday, February 4, 2019

8:00 PM

"Galileo’s Neptune"

Scott Jackson

Budd Howard

Monday, February 18, 2019

8:00 PM

"Rare Earth, Rare Life, or Rare Intelligence?"

Matt Shultz

Amy Hornberger

Monday, March 4, 2019

8:00 PM

"Colliding Galaxies"

Stan Owocki

 

Friday, March 15, 2019

8:00 PM

Family Night

Greg Weaver

 

Monday, March 18, 2019

8:00 PM

"The Drake Equation and the Search for Extra Terrestrial Life"

Dylan Hilligoss

 

Monday, April 8, 2019

8:00 PM

"The Latest and Greatest in Astronomy"

Judi Provencal

 

Monday, April 22, 2019

8:00 PM

"Big Bang in Layman's Terms"

Paul Stratton

Lynn King

Monday, May 6, 2019

8:00 PM

"Magnetospheres from Planets to Stars"

Matt Shultz

 

Friday, May 10, 2019

8:00 PM

Family Night

*** Sold out, no room available ***

Greg Weaver

 

Monday, May 20, 2019

8:00 PM

"Getting Started in Amateur Astronomy" 

Rob Lancaster

Jeff Lawrence

Monday, June 10, 2019

8:00 PM

“Saturn”

Harry Shipman

Budd Howard

Friday, June 14, 2019

8:00 PM

Family Night

Greg Weaver

 

Monday, June 24, 2019

8:00 PM

"Star Charts, Atlases and Phone Apps for Beginners"

*** This event has been cancelled ***

Budd Howard

 

Monday, July 8. 2019

8:00 PM

"How to Use a Starchart"

Greg Lee

 

Friday, July 12, 2019

8:00 PM

Family Night

Greg Weaver

 

Monday, July 22, 2019

8:00 PM

"How Far is the Star? -- How Astronomers Measure Distance"

Scott Jackson

John Richards 

Monday, August 5, 2019

8:00 PM

"Exploring Mars"

Amy Hornberger

 

Friday, August 9, 2019

8:00 PM

Family Night

Greg Weaver

 

Monday, August 19, 2019

8:00 PM

"Modern Astronomy with Roots in Astrology"

Carolyn Stankiewicz

 

Friday, September 6, 2019

8:00 PM

Family Night

*** Sold out, no room available ***

Greg Weaver

 

Monday, September 9, 2019

8:00 PM

"Tales of the Night Sky"

Sheila Vincent

 

Monday, September 23, 2019

8:00 PM

"A Safari of Stars"

Matt Shultz

 

Monday, October 7, 2019

8:00 PM

"Our Place in the Universe"

Stan Owocki

 

Monday, October 21, 2019

8:00 PM

To Be Determined

Sheila Vincent

 

Friday, October 25, 2019

8:00 PM

Family Night

Greg Weaver

 

Monday, November 4, 2019

8:00 PM

"From Stars to Black Holes"

Vero Petit

 

Monday, November 18, 2019

8:00 PM

"Astronomy for your Cell Phone or Tablet"

Judi Provencal

 

Monday, December 2, 2019

8:00 PM

Star Atlases and Catalogs

Charles Howard

 

Monday, December 16, 2019

8:00 PM

"Christmas Star"

Scott Jackson

John Richards  

Friday, December 20, 2019

8:00 PM

"Christmas Star"

Greg Weaver

 

 

 

 

 

 

Description: Description: rainbow-hr

Description: Description: MtCubathb MCAO's Homepage

Description: Description: rainbow-hr

Description: Description: emailput Make reservations for Mount Cuba Astronomical Observatory at 654-6407

For GPS: 1610 Hillside Mill Road

Copyright© 2019 Mount Cuba Astronomical Observatory

Last revised: September 3, 2019

Description: Description: rainbow-hr